skip navigation

2022 Team USA Announcement

By Keith Wallace, 07/04/22, 12:45PM CDT


Review the team scheduled to compete in Japan

The NWSA is proud to announce the athletes and staff named to the 2022 USA Team competing in Osaka, Japan.

The 2022 team will be led by team captain Brendan Downes (2.5 - Lakeville, MN), his 4th time representing team USA. Three players will be returning for their 5th appearance for team USA; Jeffery Yackley (4.5 - Lemont, IL), Greg Suing (2.0 - Elkhorn, NE), and Terry Boyd (3.5 - Dayton, OH).   Also returning for the 4th time is Josh Maier (3.5 - Omaha, NE) and Doug Bergman (2.0 - Lincoln, NE).

Making their first appearance as members of Team USA will be Nick Pryor (4.0 - Phoenix AZ), Kolton Kincaid (1.5 - Gardner, KS), Matt Bollig (2.0 - Kansas City, KS), and David Nelson (2.0 - Bellevue, NE).

Rounding out the team of 13 will be Paul Burley (1.0 - Columbia, MO), Jeffrey Garten (Q2 - Bloomington, MN), and John Teegarden (3.5 - Olathe, KS}.

The 2022 Team USA represents many of today’s most outstanding and accomplished players in wheelchair softball.  The team and staff include members of NWSA’s Hall of Fame, and athletes with awards for Most Valuable Player and many All-Tournament awards from the Wheelchair Softball World Series (WSWS).

The team will be coached and managed by Keith Wallace (Frankfort IL) and Sue Dineen (Oak Lawn, IL). Other support staff will include Umpire, Tom Pugil (Huston, TX), and Athletic Trainer Amber Morris (Bremerton, WA).

The named alternates for the team are: James Beilfuss II (2.0 - Waleska, GA), James Terpenning (2.0 - Dayton, OH), Brian Mason (2.0 - Temple, GA), and Jayson Gorton (Q2 - Delano, MN).

Congratulations to all those selected...GO USA!